It’s Just The Chicago In Me

13 08 2009

perfect5

 

I’ve come to the conclusion that for the rest of my life, thanks to growing up in the weather challenged city of Chicago that the month of August will forever mean 2 things for me……the summer is coming to an end and its time to start looking for fall clothes.   Not that its been ideal weather in LA this summer anyways, but I’m already thinking in terms of fall due to 20 some odd years of Chicago winters that have scared me beyond words. 

Every fall I go through the battle of trying on coat after coat until I find the perfect one that will get me through the winter.  The goal is to find one that has a high enough collar that protects my neck from the wind, is nice and thick and has a rich color.  What ends up happening is when its damn near 0 degrees I get so desperate to just stay warm I’ll walk around in a heated comforter before caring less what my coat looks like. 

I saw these coats in Harper’s Baazar UK and thought how perfect they would have been back when I walked 15 blocks downtown to work in 10 degree weather to allow me to stay warm and still cute.  Well at least 2 of them would get the job done.  The others would be perfect for valet.  Now do you see why I moved from Chicago?  Me and the cold are not friends.  All it takes is a fall/winter coat and I go on a long ass rant lol.

 

This, for example is perfect.

perfect2

perfect

These two on the other hand wouldn’t see the light of day after December.

perfect1

perfect6

This one is perfect for the fall, after that…mehhh.

perfect5


Actions

Information

Leave a comment