Chris Rock Documentary “Good Hair” Premiers At Sundance

26 01 2009

204x600comedyopener

I was fortunate to see Chris Rock’s new documentary “Good Hair” at a screening in LA back in October so I was happy to hear that it is currently being shown at The Sundance Film Festival.  The films title is misleading and seems as though its centered around the topic of “good hair”, but is actually a great  documentary that touches on almost everything you can think of when it comes to black hair while still giving you Chris Rocks sense of humor .

I loved that the documentary was an honest reflection of the trials and tribulations black men and women go through with our hair and features honest discussions from regular people and celebrities ranging from Sanaa Lathan, Kerry Washington and even Al Sharpton (who was hilarious) on bad relaxer experiences, obsessions with weave, perceptions of women that wear natural hair, the lack of black owned hair companies and beauty supplies, hair show competitions, and even how hair is perceived in India where of course most weave derives from.

Make sure when the film is released to check it out.  I wish back when I was a freshman in college answering the inevitable “How do you wash your hair” questions to my white roommate and her friends this film was out so I could have just handed it to them to answer all their questions and more.

Click here for more on the film.


Actions

Information

3 responses

27 01 2009
Raven

sounds good!!! i cant wait to see it!

11 03 2009
mel

Hello, im hair stylist in atlanta… and im also a natural..sew/n wearing sister. and I can’t wait for my friends and I to see this film.

11 03 2009
mel

Hello, im hair stylist in atlanta… and im also a natural..sew/n wearing, afo having sister. and I can’t wait for my friends and I to see this film.

Leave a Reply

